Escape from Sobibor

Escape from Sobibor

Original title: Escape from Sobibor
Production: Rule-Starger Productions; Zenith
Country: United Kingdom
Director: Jack Gold
Script: Reginald Rose
Photography: Ernest Vincze
Music: Georges Delerue
Cast: Rutger Hauer; Alan Arkin; Hartmut Becker; Joanna Pacula; Jack Shepherd
Year: 1987
Duration: 120
Genre: Historical
Color: Color
Original language: English
Languages available: English; Spanish
Subtitles: Spanish
Keywords: World War II, Segunda Guerra Mundial, concentration camp, campo de concentración, holocaust, holocausto, based on a true story, basado en hechos reales


 During WWII, the death camp at Treblinka had an escape, causing the Commandant at a similar camp in Sobibor to vow that his camp would never experience the same thing. But those who were its captives, the Jewish laborers that had been spared from the ovens, knew that they were on borrowed time and that their only hope was to escape... the only question was how to do it. However, because the Germans would kill an equal number of others whenever a group attempted to escape, the captives knew that if ever an escape was tried, all 600 prisoners in the camp would have to be included... 

Based on the book "Escape from Sobibor" by Richard Rashke, the book "Inferno in Sobibor" by Stanislaw "Shlomo" Szmajzner, and the manuscript "From the ashes of Sobibor" by Thomas "Toivi" Blatt. 


Winner of 2 Golden Globe in 1988: Best Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for TV, and, Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for TV (Rutger Hauer)

Winner of 1 WGA Award (TV) in 1988: Adapted Long Form (Reginald Rose)

Nominated for 1 Golden Globe in 1988: Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for TV (Alan Arkin)

Nominated for 5 Primetime Emmy Awards in 1987: Outstanding Art Direction for a Miniseries or a Special; Outstanding Directing in a Miniseries or a Special (Jack Gold); Outstanding Drama/Comedy Special; Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or a Special (Alan Arkin); and, Outstanding Writing in a Miniseries or a Special (Reginald Rose)

© 2014 Digitalia - All rights reserved | Conditions of use | Privacy policy | Help